Foodlovers Foodtalk Forum

DIY bread without a breadmaker

Posted by IngridO 
DIY bread without a breadmaker
April 11, 2016 11:03PM
Does anyone make and bake their own bread ?

I'm looking for an easy bread recipe that I could make in the oven every few days - with seeds/ grains - not too doughy
J1
Re: DIY bread without a breadmaker
April 12, 2016 02:55AM
Hmm, you might find mine a bit dense. I've been making it since 2011 and I make sure I never run out of it (I bake two loaves at a time, one goes in the freezer to be used after the first is finished and then, when I've nearly finished the 2nd one, I make two new loaves). That stuff they call bread in the supermarkets, I don't know what it is but it's not bread. Probably something from Pluto.

Now this recipe stands being mucked about with really well so if you want to make it 100% wholemeal, just go ahead and do it - you'll get a glorious brown bread loaf. If you want to substitute some other dry ingredient (within reason) for the kibbled stuff, just go ahead and try it. Etc. I've made loaves with vegetables in them (kumara, potato, pumpkin...), fruit (banana...), other seeds and grains.....there's never been a failure - just watch your wet/dry ratios. Currently, instead of 70g sunflower seeds, I grind up (in the food processor) sunflower seeds and (separately) pumpkin seeds and put 4 tablespoons of each of those in instead (I keep a big jar of each in the fridge).

You DO NOT need to get the yeast going separately first. I think this idea of first activating yeast is a throwback to the days when people's yeast got all old and/or there were no fridges to keep it in, etc, so they had to test whether their yeast was still alive before they wasted other ingredients on it. The yeast we have these days is generally not old or dead so this step is NOT necessary.

DAILY BREAD
2¼ cups (315g) white flour
2¼ cups (315g) wholemeal flour
½ cup (75g) kibbled wheat
¼ cup (35g) kibbled rye
½ cup (70g) sunflower seeds