Foodlovers Foodtalk Forum

Do you complain?

Posted by Griz 
Do you complain?
May 15, 2017 02:12PM
I was in Dunedin this weekend for DD's graduation. On Saturday night we took friend's advice and booked into a popular restaurant (they'd had a cancellation so could fit us in). Now I'm a good home cook. I ordered tomato soup with fresh bread, braised rump with mash and jus, and a coffee pannacotta with berries.
The soup wasn't properly blended and I had a lump of unblended garlic in it, the bread came without any kind of spread (it had been toasted so was a tad dry), the rump steak was a bit dry (I felt a fattier cut would have braised better) and the jus wasn't reduced so I ended up with a soupy vaguely beefy potato soup on my plate, the pannacotta was set in a glass, but to my taste/expectation it was overly set and also had separated into two layers as it hadn't been stirred while cooling (I make pannacotta regularly, turn it out and have an expectation of a good "wobble"winking smiley.
I didn't complain on the night, as I didn't want negativity to take a shine off my daughter's evening, but we paid $75/head for this meal (there were other options and I did have concerns about them as well, but hadn't eaten them so couldn't offer constructive criticism) so I sent a message to them last night. I've received an apology and that they'll mention it to the chef...
I feel like I shouldn't have complained, that perhaps they'll be thinking I'm just a Masterchef fan with an opinion...I hope I worded my concerns in a constructive manner, but wonder if others would have done the same thing?
Re: Do you complain?
May 16, 2017 12:14AM
I don't when it comes to restaurants. I go into it knowing its a hit and miss thing, and like you said its often an occassional thing and does tend to spoil things. If its a disappointing experience, there is no recurring experience. If its a higher priced restaurant, I do quite a bit of research before going there.
May 16, 2017 12:21AM