Foodlovers Foodtalk Forum

School Tuck Shops

Posted by Vanessa 
School Tuck Shops
August 28, 2014 03:45AM
Im a teacher and Im horrified what our school sells in the school tuck shop!

The kids are aged 11-13 (intermediate) and the school is in a high decile area so good food and nutrition is not an issue. The kids are able to buy iceblocks, fizzy drinks and sweet lollies after 20 mins of lunch/buying eatting time.

Apparently the reason forthe selling of rubbish is that its a lot more profitable than good food and it sells.

The women in the tuck shop just unpack food and serve - they dont plan and cook from scratch at all.

I know I should be doing something about this but my job as a teacher is really busy and as Ive approached the principal before - it just seems in the too hard basket.

Do others have similar experiences with school tuck shops? I do know my sons options at a primary school are Pita Pit OR Subway so at least its a savoury sandwich with a cookie as the the only sugary treat.

Vanessa
Re: School Tuck Shops
August 28, 2014 05:41AM
My son has had Pita Pit and sushi as a regular option at school. At one point they could order a hot meal that was delivered to school at lunch time - which changed daily it was generally things like Spaghetti bolognaise, lasagne, macaroni cheese. Or they could order a sandwhich + cheese and fruit. I am not sure if any of those options other than the pita pit option are current now though.

My older kids had the usual suspects available at high school with not many healthy options either.
I agree though I think generally lunch options for our children are pretty terrible which is why I pack a lunch daily for my little one, as I did for my older kids.