Foodlovers Foodtalk Forum

Meat/fish and fruit combinations

Posted by Vanessa 
Meat/fish and fruit combinations
August 21, 2014 04:58AM
What combinations of meat/fish and fruit do you cook/eat?

I worked in a restaurant many many years ago and the most popular meal was John Dory topped with bananas. It was delicious. I often throw in apples or pears with a roast chicken and love chicken with apricots.

I would love to know some other ideas though...
Vanessa
Re: Meat/fish and fruit combinations
August 21, 2014 06:38AM
I hadn't thought of fish with bananas, but I'd like to try it.

With chicken I often throw in slices of lemon and also use a lemon to stuff it. I like a version of Chicken Maryland with bananas. Apricot chicken is a dish I still make from time to time.

With some pork dishes I add apple and with roast pork I like apple sauce.
Bev
August 21, 2014 06:49AM
I love lamb and apricot tagine.
August 21, 2014 08:27AM
I use dried fruit quite a lot in savoury Middle Eastern and Arabic dishes, mostly with chicken or lamb, and in pilavs, also in Venetian and Sicilian fish dishes. Currants, dried figs, dried apricots, barberries, dried sour cherries and golden raisins are my favourites.
joy
August 21, 2014 09:02AM
We like the Persian Chicken recipe. It has fruit in it. Apricots, ginger and currants and cooked in crock pot. It is Joan;s recipe
DK
August 21, 2014 09:57AM
Pork and prunes is about the only combo I like. Since I'm not a big fan of fruit I don't tend to cook with it much or order dishes with fruit in restaurants. The only exception is lemons. I love lemons.
August 21, 2014 10:00AM
I like all the above except chicken and apricots. I especially love the Middle Eastern meat dishes with dates and cinnamon, with a bit of lemon or lime juice to temper the sweetness of the dates.
August 21, 2014 10:31PM
I enjoy most of the above combinations. Lamb with tamarillos is good.
August 21, 2014 11:52PM