Foodlovers Foodtalk Forum

3 Ingredient Fruit Cake

Posted by Heather F 
3 Ingredient Fruit Cake
November 01, 2016 10:20AM
I've been making this as my Christmas cake for 7 - 8 years now, except it's a bit more than 3 ingredients lol, as I add 2 - 3 essences, plus ginger, cinnamon and mixed spice. I find it lovely and moist, and of course no added butter, sugar or eggs.
I use either tropical or breakfast juice to soak the fruit, and I saw on taste.com.au a version that uses iced coffee as the soaking liquid. It doesn't appeal to me, but I wondered if anyone has ever tried it, and if so, what it was like?
Re: 3 Ingredient Fruit Cake
November 02, 2016 08:59AM
That sounds like an interesting cake Heather,can you share your recipe please?
November 02, 2016 10:06AM
Hi Marylew - apparently it's a recipe that's been around forever (maybe it started life as one of those austerity recipes),but I only came across it somewhere 7 or so years ago.

So in it's plainest form, you soak 1 kg of mixed dried fruit in 2 c fruit juice overnight, then next day add 2 c self-raising flour, mix it thoroughly and bake. Sounds like it's not going to be good, but I've made it many times and it's yummy. I think it might keep, but it gets munched through fairly quickly here so I've never found that out!
I think of all the years of creaming huge amounts of butter and brown sugar together, plus all the eggs, in a traditional Christmas cake, when I could have been making this one lol. It's not as rich as one made with lots of eggs/butter/sugar, but I don't mind that.

With my version of it, I add a packet of glace cherries as part of the one kg of fruit, and also a small 70g pk of slivered almonds, though I don't add the almonds until the next day when I'm mixing in the flour as I've found they lose a bit of their crunch.