Foodlovers Foodtalk Forum

Take them homemade food

Posted by Janet or Emma 
Take them homemade food
April 19, 2017 10:57AM
Following on from Helen's blog, I'd like some suggestions. Although I'm a confident cook, I struggle (and probably overthink) what to take people. I have a young friend with a five month old and 2.5 year old who has very recently been widowed. I'd like to take something useful, but am mindful of it being nutritious and appealing, and maybe able to be refrigerated or frozen for a day or two if necessary. My mind automatically goes to lasagne, but there's only so many of those you want to eat.

I'd like to be helpful, but maybe even more importantly show that people care. I think this could be a useful resource. Thanks in advance
Re: Take them homemade food
April 19, 2017 12:48PM
Morrocan chicken hotpot with the couscous in a separate container.
Shepherds/cottage pie (perhaps with kumara or pumpkin mash rather than potato).
Beef ragu with mash or pasta.
Fish pie.
Vege soups with a nice loaf of bread.

These were the things I was making for my friends, one coping with a terminally ill husband, and the other dealing with his own cancer diagnosis. They all reheat well and can be frozen if need be.
April 19, 2017 11:02PM
I make the Ruth pretty ginger loaf, this keeps for a week in a container and is great with just a smear of butter. It is a good one to have on hand and can be frozen should it need to be. A batch of frozen pikelets for the young child ,easy to defrost for a quick snack.
This sort of chicken pie is really tasty and may be something a 2.5yr old may eat. Just needs a serve of veggies.