Foodlovers Foodtalk Forum

Nortons Antivirus

Posted by Megan 
Megan
Nortons Antivirus
October 21, 2004 11:56AM
Hello - my Nortons Antivirus is about to run out and I'm thinking of trying AVG free version (Nortons 2004 is $115.00 to buy).

Does anyone use AVG - your thoughts please.
Re: Nortons Antivirus
October 21, 2004 12:01PM
Have used AVG for two years now and it works fine.
As I do a lot of surfing (into Genealogy) I update every week.

October 21, 2004 12:18PM
I have been using AVG for a while now and find it very easy to use.

My son, who is a computer programmer, says it is one of the best he has seen, and uses it at work.
October 21, 2004 12:31PM
Hi,

I work in IT, and I've used it myself for years, and can recommend it.

It is important to ensure that it is updating daily.

The two other security programs I am never without are Zone Alarm Fiewall (free edition from [www.zonelabs.com]) and Spybot (free from [security.kolla.de]).

Regards
Claire
[www.Quirk.co.nz]
Raewyn G
October 21, 2004 08:18PM
I have AVG and Nortons. AVG very good as others have said and I have it programmed to update daily. Of course you need to be on line at the time you set it to update.
I had a 6 months free Nortons when I bought my computer and have recently subscribed for 12 months. I think it was $47. Have an automatic update scheduled for this also.
Have disarmed the Zone Alarm as it was blocking emails and I couldnt send or receive. Problem solved.
I have found by running the two that once a virus was picked up on AVG but not Nortons and the later had run its scan first.
I also have adaware for the ...........oh what do you call it...........is it spyware?
So I'm like a rifle, all loaded and ready to shoot at this junk that we have no control over. Prior to all this I was badly burnt with spyware and a virus, a very expensive lesson. Now I feel all bases are covered.
Hope this is helpful to you.
Raewyn?:-(The computer novice!!!!