Foodlovers Foodtalk Forum

Russian Fudge

Posted by Zeetra 
Russian Fudge
March 26, 2011 12:34PM
Does anyone have a fool proof easy recipe for russian fudge?

This is something im not good at making but am willing to give it another go.

Thanks, Zeetra
Re: Russian Fudge
March 26, 2011 10:21PM
I remembered a previous discussion about Russian fudge so went looking for it to post the link. When I found it [www.foodlovers.co.nz] I discovered that it was you, Zeetra, who started the thread back in 2007. If you have already tried all the suggestions on that thread without success I'm at a loss to know what to suggest.
March 26, 2011 10:51PM
Maybe Zeetra lost details in her move.

Here are a couple of recipes you may like to consider.

GOLDEN FUDGE (I know it's not called Russian, but it still makes a good fudge and I am sure it's just Russian Fudge wearing sun glasses and a false beard)
Remembering your thread on cups/weights; hopefully you may have a measuring cup, they are not really expensive)
2 cups sugar
1/2 cup milk (preferably full cream)
2 tablespoons sweetened condensed milk
1 dessertspoon golden syrup
1 dessertspoon butter
Boil all together for 15 minutes, stay with it, stirring with a wooden spoon often to make sure no burnt bottom.
Beat well and turn into cold buttered baking dish.

RUSSIAN TOFFEE it's not a hard
1 cup sugar
1 small tin sweetened condensed milk
1/4 lb butter (see how old this recipe is)
Melt sugar and butter, add condensed milk. Stir all the time to prevent burning. Cook about 1/4 hour; beat well, you can feel it getting thick. Pour into buttered dish to set.

March 27, 2011 11:22AM
Thanks Marnie.

I did a search in the recipes Penny but not in the forum thread, I completely forgot about to be honest or I wouldnt have asked again.
March 29, 2011 12:35PM
Zeetra, it is a notoriously hard thing to get right...good luck.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/29/2011 12:35PM by Maryloo.
March 30, 2011 02:25AM