Foodlovers Foodtalk Forum

Roast/mashed Potatoes - best ever recipe?

Posted by Vanessa 
Roast/mashed Potatoes - best ever recipe?
July 18, 2015 10:58PM
My kids love spuds but Im not an expert in this area and tend to stick to the basics mash/roast and often feel I use the wrong potato for the job!

Whats the trick for the BEST EVER mash and roast potatoes?

I use olive oil for my roast potatoes just out of habit and health and just add butter and milk to my mash.

Any secret tips and tricks?

Vanessa
Re: Roast/mashed Potatoes - best ever recipe?
July 19, 2015 12:10AM
I don't own a ricer. Once I've added milk and butter and mashed the potatoes, I whip heck out of them with a fork. It makes them fluffier! smiling smiley
Regards,
Dawn.
July 19, 2015 12:14AM
Agrias, a ricer or mouli, lots of butter, salt and white pepper.
July 19, 2015 12:19AM
For roasting I always get a good result if I par-boil the potatoes for 3 or 4 minutes then once drained, I put them back into the saucepan, sprinkle them with a tablespoonful of semolina, shake the pan a bit to rough them up then put the potatoes into very hot oil or whatever fat I am using. Always golden, always crisp.
July 19, 2015 03:39AM
As per TPANDAV, agria potatoes, using a ricer and lots of butter, and warmed milk. I've been using a recipe that was in the June Taste magazine for blue cheese mash, and it is divine! Lots of butter and blue cheese.
I do as Lorna for roast potatoes, except I use flour rather than semolina.
July 19, 2015 05:03AM
What does flour/semolina do for the potatoes please have not heard of this?
July 19, 2015 09:05AM
I always flour potatoes after they have been parboiled. It gives them crunchy bits, well thats what I think
July 19, 2015 09:28AM
For roast potatoes I always par boil for 5 minutes, drain and then rough them up with a fork. I don't use flour and they still end up crunchy.
July 19, 2015 12:39PM