Foodlovers Foodtalk Forum

HELP re AVG / OutlookExpress

Posted by Mnemosyne 
HELP re AVG / OutlookExpress
November 13, 2004 03:30AM
On an older link (can't remember which) people were discussing the benefits of AVG which I downloaded last night but since then I can't receive or send any emails. Anyone out there who downloaded AVG have this problem? If so what did you do to rectify. ?:-( Thanks.....
Raewyn G
Re: HELP re AVG / OutlookExpress
November 13, 2004 06:53AM
It did happen to me but not with AVG. Dont get me wrong I am NOT a computer expert, infact very much a novice, BUT I contacted my server and found out that I had too many firewalls!!!!
So my suggestion is contact you server and they will talk you through the process if something else is un-necessary and needs to be deleted.
I deleted one program, which I still don't know what its value was, and all is well!
Good luck
Raewyn
November 14, 2004 05:39AM
Hi,

Not sure if it's been mentioned on here yet or not, but AVG's version 6 software will be taken out of service in December. They have a new version 7 now, so if you're running AVG, update at

[free.grisoft.com]

Regards
Claire
[www.quirk.co.nz]
November 14, 2004 06:24AM
Claire went to the website as advised but could not find the free 7 version of AVG to download. Any suggestions please.?:-(Thanks
Mary

November 14, 2004 10:38AM
I think the AVG website was down earlier, it's going again now...

Claire
[www.Quirk.co.nz]
November 15, 2004 06:34AM
Thanks Claire have now installed the latest version. When I went in yesterday it said menu empty, guess that is their way of saying the site is down. Thanks for alerting us to the latest version.
Regards
Marywinking smiley

COMP. VIRUSES ETC
November 18, 2004 11:57PM